Wk12 – Artist Conversation – Travis Lober

IMG_0118

Exhibition Information

Artist: Travis Lober
Exhibition: WORK : It’s a four lettered word
Media: Printmaking
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Merlino Gallery
Website: N/A
Instagram: N/A

About The Artist

CSULB undergraduate Travis Lober is working toward his BFA degree in the School of Art’s Printmaking Program. Prior to becoming an artist, Lober was a construction worker. He mentioned that being a construction worker helped him as an artist because it helped him learn how to be more careful with details. His love of tools is what inspired the theme of this exhibition

Formal Analysis

His paintings are neatly placed into wooden frames. He uses very neutral colors in all of his works. The subject matter in most of his paintings are items that you would find at a construction zone. His art also looks realistic. There is one piece where he does attacks a metal plate to the piece in order to add a depth of realism to it. The painting that features the metal plate is impressive because I felt as if it was one of the most realistic pieces in the exhibition. The way he drew the hammer made me think it was really coming out of the painting.

Content Analysis

Lober’s past experience as a construction worker is what helped him decide what to base this exhibition on. Lober mentioned that he loves tools and that being a construction worker is what helped him become an artist. He based each painting around one tool. That print then reminds him the the different smells, sounds, and vibrations that a specific tool makes. As someone that does not know a lot about tools, the one that I could understand the most was the hammer one. In that hammer painting there is a tool that is removing a nail using the back of the hammer. Seeing that part of the painting gave me such a vivid memory of seeing my dad do that when I was helping him build a bookshelf.

Synthesis / My Experience

What I loved about this gallery was that it was about what Lober is passionate about and it shows. Not everyone will be interested in tools but I liked each piece Lober made. I really liked the four paneled piece because I feel like it tells a story. The longer I look at it, the more I want to try to understand what is going on. I also really liked his picture frames. I felt like it really tied all the pieces together. Also, I felt like the frames had a handmade quality to them that made me think it really fit in with the theme of this exhibition.

Leave a Reply

