Wk6 – Short Story Based on the Arthur Meme

20170301_125456.jpg

Name: Arthur Meme
Artist: Unavailable (This is because the artist wants to stay anonymous. Similar to how the people who create memes are anonymous.)
Medium: Acrylic on Canvas
Dimensions: Approximately 20″x20″
Year: 2016
CSULB School of Art, Marilyn Werby Gallery

For all 19 years of my life I have been an incredibly passive person. I rarely stand up for myself and I tend to believe that silence is the best course of action whenever I get into an argument with someone. I think this mainly has to do with how I grew up. I also tend to believe that if I’m quiet then I can’t make anyone angry and I don’t have to argue with anyone.

I find that the Arthur meme is funny and easy to relate to. I think that’s part of the reason why the meme was such a hit in the second half of 2016. I do believe that of all memes to exist, I probably relate to the Arthur meme the most.

“Friend says that they’ll be there in five minutes. They get there in 15 minutes instead.” Insert Arthur meme here.

“Cash only.” Insert Arthur meme here. (Side note: I actually have no issues with cash only places. Although I do get paranoid that I might be a dollar short.)

One situation that I’ve dealt with that made me feel like the Arthur meme was back in my sophomore year of high school. It was during lunch and my friends and I had a specific bench we liked to sit at. On one particular day there was someone that had decided to join my lunch group. I saw him talking to a friend of mine. I have never seen this stranger before but I wanted to be friendly. I walked up to him and asked him how his day was.

He turned to me and just sighed. He then said, “I hate you and your group of friends.” I was shocked. I don’t even know who this guy is and he starts off saying he hates me and my friends. He started explaining why and the whole time I’m just quietly nodding my head. I was feeling like the Arthur meme. I had imagined curling my hand into a fist while I was listening to his reasons. Every conversation I had with him I would imagine curling my hand into a fist. He had that effect on everyone he met. He has the personality that makes you want to punch him in the face. Even when he attempted to apologize for all the social sins he committed I still kept my imaginary fist clenched. His apologies were just excuses and he blamed other people. He was going through a bad time so I just decided to just let everything go for the day.

Leave a Reply

