Wk5 – Art Experience – Automatic Drawing

20170226_094541.jpg

This week’s project is automatic drawing! The idea of automatic drawing is quite simple. You just need a partner, a piece of paper, and something to draw with. In this situation, I paired up with my mom and I drew with a my collection of colored pens.

20170226_094614.jpg

The experience was pretty relaxing. I liked that for this project you don’t need to be a really good artist. You just let your mind relax and move your hand however you want. It takes away from the stress of having to worry about not drawing eyes perfectly or not being able to draw a table. I’m not good at drawing so I really liked being able to look at my artwork at the end and think, “wow this looks pretty good!” But I think that could also be a bad thing. It’s almost like you’re saying, “I draw better without looking at the paper than when I do look at the paper.”

Overall, I liked how it turned out. Of course, I am a big fan of the colors but that’s mainly just because I chose the colors that I liked before I started. I also really liked how the lines turned out. Normally whenever I draw a circular shape there are always a ton of eraser marks or lines that don’t connect very well. I feel like if I did this project with my eyes open I would have kept making making the conscious decision to attempt to draw a circle perfectly. For some reason, doing this project with my eyes closed made me feel very content with my work.

Leave a Reply

